Marilyn Miller Award for Professional Commitment

The purpose of this award is to recognize a professional librarian in North Carolina who has provided outstanding leadership and service in furthering the status of women in librarianship, the mission of the library community, and/or the support of women colleagues in the workplace.

Individuals nominated should have demonstrated achievement in any of the following criteria:

  1. Contributions to the status of women. (Consider for example activities such as support for equity; participation in local, state, national, professional and/or government and voluntary activities that support women’s concerns; publications).
  2. Significant contributions to library development or library service. (Consider for example activities that have created new or enhanced services, pioneered new methods of delivery/access to information, championed services to unserved/underserved populations in the community.)
  3. Contributions as a role model in the mentoring process. (Consider for example activities that have supported women in the library workplace, such as encouraging employees who wished to further their education, championing women’s productive endeavors, supporting their efforts for career advancement.)
Submit a letter of recommendation that describes the nominee’s career and how the nominee meets any of the criteria in one to two pages.
Members of the WILR Executive Committee are ineligible for nomination.

The Executive Committee with the participation of an additional WILR member will review the nominations and select the recipient. A plaque and $200 will be presented at each NCLA Conference to the award recipient.

2003 - Sandy Neerman, Greensboro Public Library
2004 - Linda H. Stone, Central Carolina Community College
2005 - Barbara Baker, Durham Technical Community College
2007 - Rose Simon, Salem College
2009 - Bryna Coonin, East Carolina University
2011 - Dale Cousins, Wake County Public Library
2013 - Eleanor Cook, East Carolina University
2015 - Margaret Miles, New Hanover County
If there are any questions, please contact:
Jenny Barrett Boneno, WILR Chair
Reynolda Branch Library Manager
Forsyth County Public Library
2839 Fairlawn Dr.
Winston Salem, NC 27106
Phone:  336-703-2961
barretjs [at] forsyth [dot] cc