Public Library Section

Fabulous Fridays Handouts and Presentation Materials
Available Here


The Mission of the Public Library Section of NCLA is:

  • To unite NCLA members interested in Public Libraries
  • To provide an opportunity for discussion and activity
  • To seek to fulfill the objectives of NCLA 

If you work in a library in North Carolina, it is important to be a member of NCLA, the professional organization for North Carolina librarians. 

Membership in NCLA entitles you to one section or roundtable at no additional cost.  If you work in a public library, the Public Library Section is your best choice.

Participation:  PLS is able to 

  • Fund and present programs of interest to public librarians at conferences and workshops
  • Support projects of value to all North Carolina libraries
  • Give awards to public librarians for outstanding service
  • Give scholarships to public librarians for NCLA activities

 Leadership:  PLS members are able to

  • Serve as committee chairs or PLS officers
  • Mentor with experienced librarians all over the state
  • Plan workshops, conference programs and other statewide projects, guided by librarians with expertise in these areas

Sharing:  PLS allows members to

  • Develop a wide network of valuable contacts
  • Form instant peer groups through membership on committees
  • Join listservs for PLS members
  • Meet possible employers

When filling out your NCLA application, be sure to check Public Library Section as your free section choice.  It's a great way to support public libraries and contribute to your own professional development!

PLS Officers and Committee Chairs 

Jason Rogers, Chair
Alamance County Public Libraries
342 South Spring Street
Burlington, NC  27215
jrogers [at] alamancelibraries [dot] org

Decca Slaughter, Past Chair
Forsyth County Public Library
Southside Branch
3185 Buchanan Street
Winston-Salem, NC  27127
slaughdr [at] forsyth [dot] cc

Sandra Lovely, Vice Chair/Chair Elect
Sandra Lovely
Assistant Director for Planning and Facilities
Durham County Library
300 North Roxboro Street
Durham, NC  27701
Office 919-560-0168
Fax 919-560-0137

Arthur Erickson, Secretary
Greensboro Public Library
219 North Church Street
Greensboro, NC  27402
Arthur [dot] erickson [at] greensboro-nc [dot] gov

Laura Highfill, Director
Charlotte Mecklenburg Library
230 Matthews Station St
Matthews, NC 28105
lhighfill [at] cmlibrary [dot] org

Lindsey Shuford, Director
Union County Public Library
316 East Windsor Street
Monroe, NC 28112
lindsey [dot] shuford [at] unioncountync [dot] gov
704-283-8184 ext. 5221

Martha Sink, Web Master
Alamance County Public Libraries
342 South Spring Street
Burlington, NC  27215
msink [at] alamancelibraries [dot] org

Morgan Paty, Adult Services Chair
Wake County Libraries
Morgan [dot] Paty [at] wakegov [dot] com

Nora Armstrong, Adult Services Vice Chair
Cumberland County Public Library
300 Maiden Lane
Fayetteville, NC  26301-5000
narmstro [at] cumberland [dot] lib [dot] nc [dot] us

Elizabeth Skinner, Awards Committee Chair
Forsyth County Public Library
Central Library
660 W. Fifth Street
Winston-Salem, NC  27101
skinneej [at] forsyth [dot] cc

Marian Lytle, Circulation & Customer Service Committee Chair
Marian Lytle
Mooresville Public Library
304 S. Main St.
Mooresville, NC  28115
mlytle [at] ci [dot] mooresville [dot] nc [dot] us

Andrea Pearlstein, Circulation & Customer Service Committee  Vice Chair
Andrea Pearlstein

Jennifer Daugherty, Genealogy & Local History Chair
Wilson County Public Library
jdaugherty [at] wilson-co [dot] com
252 237 5355 ext.5029

Sara McGough, Marketing Co-Chair
Henderson County Public Library
301 N Washington St
Hendersonville, NC 28739
smcgough [at] henderson [dot] lib [dot] nc [dot] us

Joan Sherif, Teens & Youth Services Section Liaison
Northwestern Regional Library
111 North Front Street
Elkin, NC  28621
jsherif [at] nwrl [dot] org

Jeffrey Hamilton, State Library Liaison
Jeffrey Hamilton, Technology Consultant
State Library of North Carolina
109 E. Jones St.
Raleigh, NC 27601
jeffrey [dot] hamilton [at] ncdcr [dot] gov ">jeffrey [dot] hamilton [at] ncdcr [dot] gov    

PLS Planning Council Minutes:

March 2014
May 2014
August 2014
November 2014
ebruary 2015
uly 2015
ay 2016
uly 2016
ovember 2016
arch 2017
ay 2017
ugust 2017


PLS Committees:

Adult Services and Outreach Committee

Awards Committee

Circulation & Customer  Service Committee

Genealogy and Local History Committee

Marketing Committee