The Community & Junior College Libraries Section

Our Mission

To promote state-wide cooperation among librarians at community colleges, junior colleges and technical institutes, by providing professional development opportunities through activities, programs and discussion. To fulfill the objectives of the North Carolina Library Association.


NCLA Conference 2015

CJCLS is going to be busy at the conference this fall. We have several sponsored programs (listed below) but there are many more community college librarians presenting at this year's conference. We are also joining forces with the North Carolina Community College Library Association (NCCCLA) to offer a pre-conference workshop that will help us get our library webpages and libguides on the path towards meeting website accessibility standards. We will also share a conference table with NCCCLA and will try very hard to schedule a meet-up so that librarians from both groups can get to know each other. Please let us know if you would be willing to help with our conference planning. Just send an email to one of the executive board members listed below. Thank you!

Pre-Conference Workshop

Accessible Library Web Content: A Hands-On Approach to Getting Started
Presented by Morgan Steele, Central Carolina Community College
Sponsored by NCCCLA and CJCLS
Tues., Oct. 20, 1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Sponsored Programs:

Effective Part-Time Librarianship: Making the Most of the Opportunities and Realities at Community Colleges
Jennifer Stith, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
Andrea Kincaid, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College

Keeping the Community College Library Relevant
Michael Crumpton, UNCG
Nora Bird, UNCG

Scaffolding for Success: Information Literacy in the Post-Secondary Developmental Classroom
Maria Fesz, Coastal Carolina Community College
Davonna Thomas, Coastal Carolina Community College

TEACHing & Fair Use in the 21st Century Classroom
Cheryl Coyle, Central Piedmont Community College
Mark Coltrain, Central Piedmont Community College

Complete list of NCLA sessions involving community college librarians! [Google Doc]


Executive Committee Minutes:  August 24, 2015 [PDF]

Quarterly Report: April 2015 [PDF]

Join the CJCLS Google Group.

Questions?  Send an email to one of the CJCLS Executive Committee members!


2013/2015 Executive Committee Members

Angela Davis, Pitt CC, adavis [at] email [dot] pittcc [dot] edu

Staci Wilson, Catawba Valley CC, swilson [at] cvcc [dot] edu (Appointed May 2015)

Deanna Lewis, Happily Retired!

Directors at Large:
Amy Gustavson, Central Carolina CC, agustavson [at] cccc [dot] edu

Programs Committee:
Julie Humphrey, Durham Tech CC, humphreyj [at] durhamtech [dot] edu

Alisha Webb, Guilford Tech CC, amwebb [at] gtcc [dot] edu

Penny Sermons, Beaufort CC, pennys [at] beaufortccc [dot] edu

North Carolina Libraries Representative:
Catherine Tingelstad, Wake Tech CC, cjtingelstad [at] waketech [dot] edu


Incoming Executive Committee Members for 2015/2017

Staci Wilson, Catawba Valley CC, swilson [at] cvcc [dot] edu

Alisha Webb, Guilford Tech CC, amwebb [at] gtcc [dot] edu

Catherine Tingelstad, Wake Tech CC, cjtingelstad [at] waketech [dot] edu

Directors at Large:
Stephanie Bowers, Pitt CC, sbowers [at] email [dot] pittcc [dot] edu
Susan Basnight, Pitt CC, sbasnigh [at] email [dot] pittcc [dot] edu

Programs Committee:
Jennifer Seagraves, Central Carolina CC - Harnett Campus, jseag645 [at] cccc [dot] edu

Angela Davis, Pitt CC, adavis [at] email [dot] pittcc [dot] edu